Cog Icon signifying link to Admin page

Sleat Community Council

Comhairle Choimhearsnachd Shlèite

Changes to Membership of Sleat Community Council

Added on 24 December 2022

Tim Shone, Chair of Sleat Community Council announced on Friday 23rd December 2022 a number of changes to the membership of the community council here in Sleat.

"I am delighted to advise that three much respected members of our commuity have agreed to become Co-opted Members of  the Council. Kate Duffus from Sassaig, Gordon Matheson from Teangue and Andy Williamson from Ardvasar will formally join at the next meeting being held at Sleat Free Church at 1930 on Wednesday 11th January. Our new members  bring a wealth of public service experience and my colleagues and I very much look forward to welcoming them as we represent residents, businessess and organisations in our community. I wish them well in their new roles."


Ludwig Appeltans, Member from Rubha Phoil, has been disqualified from office as a member of the Sleat Community Council with effect from 22nd December 2022. This is as a result for failing to attend any meeting of the council for a consecutive period in excess of six months, without reasonable excuse or explanation. This has been agreed by a unanimous vote of all other members and is pursuant to Section 11.2 of the Scheme of Establishment for Community Councils in Scotland (amended 2019) that states:

'If a Community Councillor does not attend a Community Council meeting for six consecutive months the Community Councillor will be disqualified from office: unless at the first opportunity after the six months period has elapsed the Community Council agree by majority vote that the absence is reasonable in all the circumstances. Disqualification under this rule will not prevent the Community Councillor from standing at the next election.'

These changes to membership of Sleat Community Council is supported and approved by the Highland Council which administer community councils.