Cog Icon signifying link to Admin page

Sleat Community Council

Comhairle Choimhearsnachd Shlèite

Community Council Quality Awards

Added on 05 November 2012

Each year the Highland Council ask the Community Councils to nominate individuals or groups that have made that extra effort for the community. This year three Awards were given as a Special Commendation to the following:

  • Caithness Countryside Rangers Dieter Tuerlinckx and Marina Swanson (nominated by Sinclair Bay Community Council)
  • Heather Simpson, janitor, bus driver and cleaner at Melvich Primary School, North Sutherland (nominated by Melvich Community Council)
  • The Portree street cleaning team (nominated by Portree Community Council) 

The full list of all Highland Council Quality Award winners will be published on the HC website and in the press, following the ceremony which is being held in the Town House, Inverness, on Thursday 8th November.

A rewarding aspect of the Quality Awards, is the very positive way in which Community Councils have nominated a wide range of staff who deliver services in their communities. 

Alistair Dodds, Chief Executive, Highland Council